Nicodemus Wilderness Project
Nicodemus Wilderness Project
About Us Projects Education Links Volunteers Membership  
Nicodemus Wilderness Project


NWP Global Registry of Apprentice Ecologists - Upper Peninsula, Michigan

« ++ ·
· ++ »

Upper Peninsula, Michigan
(Click on photo to view larger image)


Registered: January 2017
View this Member's Photo Gallery
As I type this essay for the Apprentice Ecologist Scholarship, it is 11°F outside with a wind chill temperature of -1°F. I live in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. I would like to quickly tell you about myself and my education plans. I have always had a passion for the outdoors. When I was young I would research native bird species, tree species, and even spider species. I have always wanted to make a career working in the outdoors, not only because I personally enjoy the outdoors, but also because I want others to enjoy and appreciate nature as well. I used to live in Southern California, where I volunteered with the United States Forest Service. I assisted rangers, patrolled trails, picked up litter, and even helped lead teams to plant pine trees in wildfire areas and to clean picnic areas. In addition, I privately organized a beach pickup event which removed over three pickup truck beds worth of litter and trash from an ocean jetty. About a year ago I moved to the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. The “UP” is known for its natural resources and frigid winters. Last summer, I worked a job as a summer ranger at a state park near my house. While working there, I was able to do invasive species removal, teach kids how to fish, and take care of the park. Privately, I also created a fishing line recycling container at a highly trafficked fishing spot near me. My goal is to become a Conservation Officer, Game Warden, or Park Officer/Ranger. I think it would be amazing and thrilling to be on the front lines of conservation efforts and at the same time, help others enjoy and conserve the outdoors. However to do so, I will need a college degree. I have been accepted to Thomas Edison State University and am pursuing a Bachelors of Arts in Criminal Justice. I am using a non-traditional method to obtain my degree. I have been accumulating credits from outside sources with the ability to transfer them in later. I recently finished two semesters of coursework in three months. This method works great for me since it is self-paced and since I have lots of time indoors during the cold winter up here. I hope that my past and my goals demonstrate the kind of personal initiative, leadership, and dedication that you’re looking to support. If awarded, this scholarship will help me continue towards my goals. Thank you for reviewing and considering my essay.
Date: January 12, 2017 Views: 5500 File size: 16.4kb, 321.3kb : 640 x 480
Hours Volunteered: 100
Volunteers: 10
Authors Age & Age Range of Volunteers: 18
Print View
Show EXIF Info

Asad Aijaz

Registered: September 2017
City/Town/Province: Mirpur Mathelo District Ghotki Sindh
Posts: 1
September 29, 2017 11:26am

They Are Doing Good.